BROMSGROVE DISTRICT COUNCIL

MEETING OF THE ELECTORAL MATTERS COMMITTEE

TUESDAY, 18TH NOVEMBER 2008, AT 6.00 P.M.

PRESENT: Councillors R. J. Deeming, Dr. G. H. Lord, D. McGrath, S. P. Shannon and L. J. Turner

Officers: Mrs. S. Mould and Mr. A. C. Stephens

1/08 ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN

<u>RESOLVED</u> that Councillor Dr. G. H. Lord be elected Chairman of the Committee for the remainder of the municipal year.

2/08 ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIRMAN

<u>RESOLVED</u> that Councillor R. J. Deeming be elected Chairman of the Committee for the remainder of the municipal year.

3/08 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Dr. D. W. P. Booth, Mrs. C. M. McDonald and R. D. Smith.

4/08 **DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST**

No declarations of interest were received.

5/08 **MINUTES**

The minutes of the meeting of the Electoral Matters Committee held on 19th November 2007 were submitted.

RESOLVED that the minutes be approved as a correct record.

6/08 ANNUAL POLLING STATION REVIEW

The Committee considered a report which detailed the annual review of polling stations within the District, in pursuance of the Review of Polling Districts and Polling Places (Parliamentary Elections) Regulations 2006.

The Committee voiced their concern about the type and size of portable building units used as polling stations as a result of feedback from previous elections. In addition, Members expressed a wish for improved accessibility for disabled persons and wheelchair users into polling station premises used at elections.

<u>RESOLVED</u>

- (a) that the review of polling districts and polling places, as detailed in Appendix 1 to the report, be approved and adopted; and
- (b) that officers be requested to continually monitor the location of, and access arrangements for, polling stations used at elections within the District.

7/08 **REGISTER OF ELECTORS POLLING DISTRICT CODES**

The Committee considered a report relating to a revised coding system used to represent the polling districts in the Register of Electors.

<u>RESOLVED</u> that, with the addition of the following codes relating to the Charford ward polling districts, the list of polling district codes attached to the report at Appendix 1 be approved.

New Code	Ward	Polling District	County Division	Previous Code
CHA	Charford	Charford (West)	Bromsgrove South	TA
CHB	Charford	Charford (East)	Bromsgrove South	ТВ

The meeting closed at 6.25 p.m.

<u>Chairman</u>